Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How often do you clean the screen in your TrimBin?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How often do you clean the screen in your TrimBin?

I like this thing 'cept the static the plastic holds. One of the batches I have ran left the screen with stains, I do luv that product whether I burn it or decarb it and eat it
    For those that have one of these, how often to you clean the screen with something like alcohol.

The one I've been using for the past 3 years has a 150 micron screen and I typically clean it after any heavy use. I start my cleaning by submerging it in very hot soapy water and use a soft scrub brush. Then I soak it briefly in acetone and scrub it again. I use acetone and not alcohol because I have a friend who owns a nail polish manufacturing company and she gives me gallons of it for free. After 3 years my screen has begun to sag a bit so I will likely replace it soon. Probably the best $50 investment I've made. I know what you mean about static so I now line my basin with parchment paper. Crease the paper before you put it in and it creates a perfect way to pour the kief into a container.

Comment

I use parchment paper, I'll try that crease to get easier recovery. I get rubbing alcohol (peroxide, epsom salt, band aids etc.) on my OTC card at no out of pocket cost so free to me.
      Do you remove the screen to clean it? I know it comes out to be replaced, 150 micron as well.

Comment

• crucialbunny
        crucialbunny commented
        Editing a comment
        I've never removed my screen. I don't know if it comes out. The one I got comes with 2 pairs of scissors and they work pretty well for trim.

• Rwise
        Rwise commented
        Editing a comment
        They sell replacements so I assume they come out, though I have not tried to remove it, maybe its the whole tray.

I don't use a trim bin.

I can't even get the tiniest amount from the bottom of my hand herb grinder.