Outdoor growing in the heat

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Outdoor growing in the heat

From Oklahoma where it gets around 100 degrees for extended periods of time. Growing in mobile 7 gallon pots and have access to shade as well as easy feeding. Any tips to make it easier to survive the summer?

I'm getting ready for another heat wave mine r in the ground I think that helps keep roots cool and I just rigged a white tarp to cover for the afternoons at least 4 days of heat and humidity

Comment

I'm a novice grower and tried some autoflower seeds for the first time. These are supposed to be ready between the 10th and 20th of July but like I said, I'm new to this. I've been keeping these in the shade next to my house for the past week and a half. Smells awesome already and are getting dense.
      Attached Files

Comment

Here in Southern California we get some nasty heat in the late summer. I've paid my dues in plant and root heat stress and this season I resolved to do something about it. First thing was to get my pots off the hot ground. I upcycled water bottle caps by using construction adhesive and gluing several of them to the bottom of each my containers. I grow on a south facing balcony and the surface gets blazing hot so I found a couple retractable 8' X 8" plant screens that I can pull out and connect to my railing in a matter of minutes to reduce the heat significantly on the hottest of days. Another trick I have used in the past is frozen zip-lock baggies of water that I can lay over the surface of my soil and that works well to keep my soil and roots from cooking. The quickest way to kill off living soil is to cook it in the sun. If you have the ability to move them to shade easily then that is a great option. For me it's the baking sun that causes the most problems rather than just the heat of the day.

Comment

• soonboomer
          soonboomer commented
          Editing a comment