Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

So you are dreaming of a BIG GROW are ya ? Here is my accidental big grow.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

So you are dreaming of a BIG GROW are ya ? Here is my accidental big grow.

The place I finally decided on,is directly behind my chicken pen.I live on an island approximately 3 miles wide by seven miles long in a southern state.I have an acre of land that is very wooded and surrounded by a six foot tall wooden privacy fence.The small airport we have is located about two miles due south,being a resort area,their are banner planes flying all summer long,9 in the morning until seven at night,also an air ambulance(translation)Helicopter.I studied my spot for two years,before I decided to go for it.Clearing the trees last winter was a painstaking task as some had grown to over thirty feet.I had flagged the trees to cut during the summer,for maximum sunshine.Two were dangerously close to the chicken pen,and I had a cold sweat when I dropped them,by the shear grace of God,neither chickens,nor Paul Bunyon were harmed.Now,next I knew I was going to half to bury whatever was going to hold my potting mix,because the landscape was going to half to look as natural as possible,I finally decided to use plastic fish totes,these measure 4 feet long 2 feet wide x22"deep,I calculated that each tote would need three cubic feet of potting soil.I also wanted to restrict the height of the plants and I figured the relatively small containers would help with that WRONG ! So I dug my holes,broke up the soil underneath where the totes would sit.Next I applied a layer of small river rock about a foot deep,turned the bottoms into swisscheese sit then on top of the rock,added about two inches of rock in the bottom of the totes added growing medium,up to about an inch below the top,then covered the rest with the natural soil,covered the places with plastic a little more dirt,and when I went back,Hell evenI couldn't find em,stepp