Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can You Help Me Figure Out What My EC Pen is Trying to Tell Me

Hello one, hello all.
    Just recently started using EC/TDS readings, so totally a noob here. I'm using a cheap EC/TDS pen, so there's one or two things i'm trying to figure out.

Click image for larger version

Name:	3in1-Digital-Water-Quality-Tester-LCD-font-b-TDS-b-font-EC-Water-Filter-Purity-Pen.jpg
Views:	526
Size:	92.8 KB
ID:	74140Click image for larger version

Name:	PENTYPE-TDS-METER.jpg
Views:	457
Size:	346.2 KB
ID:	74141

Firstly, I wanted to calibrate this thing, so I got the bluelab 2.77 EC calibration solution. (=1385 ppm with 500 scale, =1940 ppm with 700 scale)
    Now the problem with this cheap-ass pen is that it has no calibration option. No calibration button and no screw to dial in.

So I dip the pen into the calibration solution, and it reads:

3556 uS/cm2 = 3.56 mS/cm2 = 1775 ppm

(Calculating 3.56*500 equals 1780, so therefore this pen uses the 500 scale, which is the NaCl scale)

Now comparing that to the calibration values:

3.56-2.77= +0.79 difference in EC
    1775-1385= +390 difference in TDS

So my pen is 0.79 over the EC value it should be reading, and 390 over the TDS value.
    Does this mean that if I subtract these values from all future values it will be giving me an accurate reading?
    Originally posted by 420n808
    If you are new to growing, the first time you see the balls, you'll never forget the sight. You will know M-F from that point on.

Oh my days, now that this has happened to me... SO TRUE!!!

Picking up from there, I have some values from when I fed the gals nutes, and from when I gave just good ole water.

Type of Feed ECin TDSin ECout TDSout Calculated ECin || Calculated TDSin Calculated ECout || Calculated TDSout
    NutesDaphne 2760 us/cm2 1372 ppm 3555 us/cm2 1783 ppm 1970 us/cm2 || 982 ppm 2765 us/cm2 || 1393 ppm