First timer Scrog mistakes (FU’s) and what i learned

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First timer Scrog mistakes (FU’s) and what i learned

First timer Scrog mistakes (FU’s) and what i learned.

First submission:

Full disclosure: I am not a total noob (Old school guerilla farmer), but this is my first indoor grow at the helm of my own ship.

Many times during this grow, I have found myself Functionally Unaware (Hereby referred to as FU). For example, I FU’d and left the work light on in the flower room 3 days and now my girls are growing bananas… you get the idea. I learned much from each FU. Here are a few of my FU’s and the ensuing lesson.

Scrog FU #1. Incorrect net placement.

So the girls are growing great in Vedge. Measure the height from the soil to plant top and hang a net right? Better yet, I am an old fart and don't want to bend over. Net at belt height right.? So hung my net and waited….and you get the idea.

Over a few weeks I raised my plants closer to the net using 2” foam blocks to get my plants

8-12 inches closer to the net than I had originally thought. Each 2” move required unweaving and reweaving of the plant.

Lesson provided: Get your net low and don't be afraid to untwist part of your Scrog to make adjustment.

In the end, I lost opportunity from the bottom of the plant. That said, I corrected and adjusted mid course. This caused me a whole new batch of FU’s I may or may not outline later. (FU#2, breaking plants and learning to nurse back to health =supercropping?)...

Thanks to this community for the join and wishing you all the best on your particular path.

Mattman

(The reluctant Bodhisattva)

Old school outdoor renegade finally indoors and legit.
    5x5 DIY flower room with 3 nets. 600w Hid mars hydro 600(100w) and Chinese led (150w actual).. Promix C coco mix +20% course perlite. General hydro nutes at slightly under full dose+ cal mag and molasses every other water.
    wishing you peace on your particular path....