Soil PH

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Soil PH

1st ever grow here. I have a question about soil PH. I PH the water to 6.5 after nutes, when I test my run off water it is at 6.0. I have a soil PH meter in the soil that is reading a PH of 8. Do I need to do something to the soil itself to bring the PH down, or as long as my intake PH and run off PH are good it is all good?

Howdy, Ejay What are you using to adjust pH and what sort of probe are you using?
    More elephant!

Coco/perlite
    3x3x6

Comment

• Ejay
      Ejay commented
      Editing a comment
      Not being a bummer at all, I am a total Noob! Smoked for 30+ years, never grown.
      If I use my filtered water (brita filter) the PH is low. My tap water comes in just about 6.8

• Gingerbeard
      Gingerbeard commented
      Editing a comment
      That's pretty good for tap, compared to where I am, as well as my machine water. Personally, I'm not sure I would do anything to it. Maybe change things when you get to flowering?
      Leave tap water out before using it. It helps off-gas chlorine.

• Rwise
      Rwise commented
      Editing a comment
      My water has chloramine which does not gas off, not all water plants use chlorine, so check with them as to whats in your water.

All is good Ejay - don't worry too much about soil ph. I don't - never even tested my runoff, but I'm lazy. I just worry about what's going in - cuz at the nutrients stage I have already grown my roots properly to make them happy, which makes for a productive plant.
    ​​​​​​3 X 3 gorilla. Promix soil . Green Planet Nutes
    Mars Hydro
    Vortex in-line 6" fan

Comment

Those soil probes are not really accurate. Also if the water going in is good and runoff is good then your good.

Comment