Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First grow setup. I have questions

Howdy!

I’m new to growing and have decided to take the plunge into hydroponics. I’m a medical cannabis patient living in Canada and I’ve gotten tired of the high prices from the LPs. I’ve also applied to Health Canada for my personal production license. I’ll describe, and include some pics, of my grow area and will gladly take all suggestions of how to achieve success.

GROW METHOD
    - hydro
    - 5 gallon pails w/air stones. (No top feeding)
    - Aglex 1200w LED (dual switch) full spectrum light

GROW SPACE
    - 4’x4’x6.5’ tent located in an outbuilding (not in the home) that is insulated.

As as you can see in the pics, space isn’t an issue, nor is stealth an issue since everything is totally legitimate. While I say “stealth” isn’t an issue, by that I mean that I’m cultivating on my own property and not worried about hiding odor/noise as if I live in an apartment/condo. You will also see in the pics that the walls/ceiling of my building are unfinished which allows me to install electrical and ventilation to suit my needs.

Here’s some questions I’m unsure of the correct answer and hope to get some help from this community.
    1) 15 or 20 amp circuit for power? Is it ok to run a 20amp circuit to power the equipment, or is there a reason not to?
    2) Regarding ventilations: I have a 4” inline fan (that does not have a speed controller) and is rated for 195 cfm. Is that sufficient for my tent? (‘‘This fan will be mounted approx 10’ above the tent, then pushing air 25’ to exhaust outside)
    3) Has anyone mounted this type of fan in an attic space (above the insulation) that is subjected to extreme heat and cold? Should I build an insulated box around the fan to protect it from temp extremes (avoiding winter temp issues causing a major fault)?