Rosin press on the cheap

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rosin press on the cheap

I had been considering trying my luck with a d.i.y. hair straightener rosin press. Today saw a deal online for (what looks like) a nice straightener with digital temp readout for only $17.25 so I pulled the trigger.

In case anyone is on the fence, here's the link:
    Remington Pro 2" Flat Iron at Amazon
    My first grow

Cool - 2 inches wide seems ideal - way cheaper in USA - checked amazon in Canada and the same iron is $59.60 Canadian.
    ​​​​​​3 X 3 gorilla. Promix soil . Green Planet Nutes
    Mars Hydro
    Vortex in-line 6" fan

Comment

Have fun squishing!
      I'm still learning about no-solvent extraction, but here are some things that I have learned so far:

1. Best preparation and selection

a) Do not grind

b) Do pick out bigger sticks from buds.

c) This method only works with sticky, quality (high THC) material.

d) Material should be at 62% to 70% relative humidity. (I like 70%.) This is important. Too dry and the solids can soak up the rosin like a dry sponge, too wet and it just squishes like wet sponge.

2. Best substrate

a) Silicone-coated parchment (PTFE--Teflon, "OilSlick"--seems to soften too much and rosin sticks to it.) I use RAW brand parchment, and it works great, but I suspect that grocery store parchment, which is cheaper, might work just as well.

3. Best filter material

a) None at all, just pick out the green bits and get higher yield. If you squish it right, you shouldn't get much solid matter in your rosin at all. Some people use muslin (gauze, I think).

3. Best temperature

a) As a rule, the lower the better.

b) About 115C/240F max

c) About 90C/194 F min

d) Varies with material (flower, hash) and strain.

4. Best time

a) Varies with pressure

b) Probably a minimum of 30 seconds (I am currently using about 2 minutes)

c) Long and slow is better than hot and fast.

5. Best pressure

a) As a rule, the higher the better.