Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to Treat Epilepsy or Seizures with Medical Marijuana (What Works & Doesn't Work)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to Treat Epilepsy or Seizures with Medical Marijuana (What Works & Doesn't Work)

Hello everyone! I'm not a doctor or any other type of medical professional, so I can't give any medical advice. However, I am an epilepsy patient who uses medical marijuana, and I wanted to share some things I've learned about using cannabis to prevent seizures! Using medical marijuana to help prevent seizures is a trial-and-error experience, and unfortunately isn't effective for every epilepsy patient. However, there are some tips to help you get started in your personal journal to finding the perfect regimen.
    1. Maximize CBD with high-CBD strains - High levels of CBD seem to be extremely helpful for many patients
    2. Maximize THCa while minimizing THC - The plant naturally contains THCa, which does not get you "messed up" and is known to possibly have anti-seizure effects. However, when cannabis is heated during the smoking process the THCa gets converted to THC, which can actually make seizures worse for some people. In order to directly ingest THCa, you need to be eating fresh cannabis or hash that has not been subjected to heat. So standard edibles aren't necessarily the best choice because of the heating process. Some growers actually juice the fresh leaves or bud, but one of the easiest way to eat "raw" cannabis cannabinoids is to remove all the trichomes into hash using a method that doesn't use heat, and then eat the raw hash, for example in pre-measured caps. This will make you less "messed up" than most other methods of consumption, but may be more effective for stopping seizures for some patients
    3. Eat cannabis instead of smoke it - Going along with the above point, this helps minimize turning any THCa into THC