Question about trimming fan leaves

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question about trimming fan leaves

I have been growing for about 2 years. So I would label myself as a novice groomer. I have a question about trimming fan leaves on my auto plants. I have a small tent and normally only grow two plants at a time. This grow I decided to grow three. All three are in the flowering stage and the buds are about the size of my fist. The lower fan leaves are starting to turn sour (as expected). Every week I trim a few off. Since my tent is more crowded than usual can I trim even more fan leaves off safely? (Reason to bring in more light). I expect another 3-4 weeks till harvest. How bad will I affect the growth of the buds if I cut too many off? Thanks for your help!
    Mother Earth Coco/Perlite 70/30
    Canna Coco Or
    Happy Frog soil
    Fox Farms nutrients trio
    Smart pots
    Vivosun tent, LED lite & fan

Semper Fi brothers and sisters!

Objective is not to have dark areas or no light reaching the inside of the plant. Trim only what you need to take off to expose the buds. Do not go overboard!

This is where LST comes in handy earlier during the veg stage as this helps to eliminate these spots and opens up the plant to spread.

Fan leaves (as I understand) feeds the branch. the smaller leaves feed the buds in conjunction with the fan leaves. Since fan leaves die off, the leaves on the branch continue feeding the bud. make sense?

That is why they dry up and die from the bottom up (this is excluding plant issues) and the upper 3rd of plant blossoms. I trim the bottom 3rd of all my plants before flowering to drive plant energy to tops where the light is.