"Just add water" questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

"Just add water" questions

Hey everyone, I'm looking for a little help with my first organic grow. I've been growing for 2 years now and I decided to switch to a completely organic grow from using coco coir and nutes. I ordered the Nature's Living soil (autoflower version because I only grow Mephisto Auto's) from Amazon. I recently followed the instruction given on this website and mixed the bottom third of my pots with 2/3 Living soil and 1/3 coco loco. Now, the company suggests using 1 lb per pot. However, after following the directions that are mentioned here I was only able to fill up two 5gal smart pots. Is that normal to only get two 5 gal smart pots worth of the 5lb bag of Nature's Living Soil (mixed at the bottom 1/3) when following this websites instructions?

My other concern I have is that the only spring water that is available in my area is bottled by a company called Crystal Geyser. It's ppm is right around 150 and the ph seems to fluctuate in the low 8's. From what the tutorial says the ph should be closer to 7 and a little lower but that's the only spring water I can get. I've read on other fully organic grows that people use spring water and don't bother with the ph at all. I know I can drop the ph but atm I only have GH's ph down and from what I read that is a no no to use when going fully organic. Is the Earth's Juice ph down the only safe way for me to lower the ph of my spring water? I'm kinda pressed for cash at this time so any alternatives would be great. My tap water doesn't contain chloramines and comes in around 185 ppm. I do have an RO system that has a ppm of 10 as well. With all of that mentioned which would you choose and how would you prepare the water? Also, the ph of my tap water and RO water comes in pretty high at about 10ish.