Stealth setup in apartment - some beginner questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stealth setup in apartment - some beginner questions

Sup. I'm completely new to growing and I'd like to ask for advice. I live in a big apartment and don't get many guests, but I want to be extra careful. I'm looking for a strain that's:
    - not too smelly (I want to use one or two carbon filters anyway) - this is very important
    - not too big (fits in a 60x60x120cm / 2x2x4ft. cabinet, including lighting etc.)
    - somewhat foolproof, as this is going to be my first plant (I hear that autos aren't good for beginners. is that true?)
    - good for muscle relaxation

So far I've read Robert Bergman's Marijuana Grow Bible and I have some questions:
    - is a single plant worth the hassle? I don't know how many I can fit in a cabinet mentioned above
    - if a seed is advertised as feminized, does that mean it's 100% confirmed female and I don't need to worry about pollination, getting a male etc.?
    - is a ~100 CFM fan + filter good enough for a 1-2 plant setup? I used this site as a reference: https://www.growweedeasy.com/exhaust...FM-exhaust-fan
    - I was considering getting CFL bulbs because I'm on a budget, but from what I understand they're controversial. should I suck it up and invest in more professional lighting?
    - how long can the fan stay off without affecting the growth AND how long until the smell starts being noticable (assuming I use two filters)? I'm asking because I know that fans produce very noticable noise

No matter what, don’t use cfl’s. If you can’t afford a good led then a 150w HPS is cheap and will do great for a single plant without too much heat to deal with in your setup.