New to DWC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to DWC

Anyone know what this is? I started growing hydro a few weeks ago and today is day 27 in my 17 gallon tote, They are being grown under a 200 watt spider farmer LED. Enclosed in a 3x3x5 tent. Temps are fairly stable between 68-80 degrees and the growth has been outstanding for 3 weeks. I noticed this white growth around the stems and wondered if this is something I should be worried about. This is my 3rd grow, my 1st and 2nd were in coco so I am fairly new to the game. I am growing white widow and grand daddy purple.
    Attached Files

To me they look like the start of roots. I see in the picture the feed tube is at top of basket and allowing light to get to the solution this may cause root rot. I have lowered it a bit through first few grows to where now I place it through the side of basket at the bottom. You may also find light can get trough the white lid which will also cause root rot. My first setup had a gray lid and light caused it through it I taped over the lid with foil tape to stop it.

Comment

Howdy Msizzle, First of all, what is the temperature of the water and is it being aerated? The second thing is, get rid of the clear tubing for the water lines (the clear tubing acts like a 'light pipe' and can 'carry' light down into the reservoir causing problems) and move the water lines to the bottom of the cube or net pot, it appears that the stems are too wet and are either growing mold or trying to product roots. It also appears to be splashing and causing a nutrient build up on top of the reservoir. I cover the net pots with aluminum foil to block out all light intrusions into the reservoir to prevent the growth of brown algae. I also insulate the reservoir and use ice bottles to keep the water temperature between 62° F and 70° F.
      Good luck with Your grow.
      Smoke weed,.....grow peace!

Comment