Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

1st harvest dried in 2 days then into jars. Is it ruined?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1st harvest dried in 2 days then into jars. Is it ruined?

I used a rack for drying. I cut the buds from the stems at harvest. I unfortunately left fans on in my tent where I dried the bud. The bud was pretty airy. All together this meant that my buds were quite crispy on the outside by about 48 hours from harvest despite rh being about 60%. The stems still bent when I realized how fast they were drying and I put them straight into jars. I am waiting on my boveda packs, they only just shipped. I have burped once, about 14 hours after jarring. Still pretty crispy on the outside for most.
    I am new to this but imho the bud is not too dry, it just got to be as dry as it is too quickly. It smells heavily of hay or grass. What is people’s opinion of how much damage I have done and the best way to salvage my harvest?

Did you trim the leaves before putting into jars? If not do so then continue burping them twice a day for the next couple weeks then do it once a day for a few weeks. I wouldn’t use the humidity packs until the curing is done. It’ll take a few weeks before they start smelling like weed.

Comment

• Hrrmph
      Hrrmph commented
      Editing a comment
      Yes I trimmed them wet. Ok I am so relieved you guys aren’t saying I ruined my crop! What you recommend is the plan except for the humidity packs. I am less sure about those. I am planning on making rosin and the ideal moisture level is supposed to be between 55-65% and so the boveda can help me achieve this specific goal. I am not saying I will use them, I am taking your advice to heart, I am just on the fence.

• bboyfromwayback
      bboyfromwayback commented
      Editing a comment