Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Eating your plants!?

Hey,

i have been wondering about this for a while, and it might sound a bit strange. But everything that looks healthy on my plant, and i have cut off as a part of defoliation, i usually wash thoroughly and eat. I have been growing for only short two months, so i have been wondering if this is okay, or if it could be harmful, and what are your thoughts on this.

To elaborate on why i'm doing this a bit, first off, it feels like waste throwing all the cut leaves and stems into the thrash. I have been raised to eat all the food i can, and keep for later what i can't eat now - never throw away anything that could be eaten later.

As i look at it, i absolutely love leafy greens - spinach.. rucola.. salad.. etc., but they are super expensive here (over 20 bucks for KG - approx. base daily wage). I have spent roughly 200 bucks on fertilizers for the plant, and over 600 for the things necessary for growing it (lights, tent, ballast, etc. ).

So. Why throw out all the cuttings away?
    I throw away unhealthy leaves or stems, and keep the healthy ones. Cut them finely, fry them a bit on oil with some onion, add some legumes and water, boom - you have a great soup. Or eat them fresh in salad! Put them between your bread with ham an cheese to make slightly healthier sandwich. Over the net i have found out that eating fresh minced/mixed canna is used as "super food".

I don't use all organic fertilizers/supplements (mostly regular canna brand products, which they claim can be used for edible plants), but i also don't eat kilograms of the plant all the time (have only one plant at this time).

Think this might be unhealthy? Or just weird? Did you ever try it?
    Last edited by Partyzen; 06-24-2020, 01:43 PM.

Lots of people do what you are doing - can't have too many greens can we?

When you get your sparkly sugar leaves then it gets even better.