First Time Grower - New to this Site

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SOIL First Time Grower - New to this Site

Hi Everyone! I´ve learned so much from this site in just a couple weeks & thanks to the solid information I´ve received, my first attempt is going well so far. Feel free to let me know if you see any glaring mistakes. I'm totally new to this, but am loving it !!!!!!

Newbie Grower on a Temporarily Tight Budget
    So far, I´ve invested a whopping 10.29 € (A small bag of Nitrates & 10 6” tall cloth seedling bags that will arrive in a couple days). For everything else, I made due with what was already to hand.

My Four Babies:
    #1 & #2 Very Dark Bag Seeds - Left Top to Bottom
    #3 & #4 Very Blond Bag Seeds – Right Top to Bottom

These are from either/both of my only 2 sources. No idea beyond that, but have a reasonably solid theory.
    #1 Source was super strong, sometimes too strong for my taste, and rarely had any seeds (surprise, surprise).
    #2 Source was slightly milder & more enjoyable. Seeds were a little more common, but not much. I saved around 15 seeds over a year’s time & kept them in the fridge.

Soil:
    pH 6.4
    NPK 2.5 - 3.5 - 10 (Yeah, I know, but it´s what I had to start)

For the short term, I have some Nitrates to (carefully) mix into a new batch of soil for the repotting into the seedling bags. I’ll order the Botanicare “Grow” & “Bloom” when I hopefully confirm at least one female.

Water:
    pH 6.81
    50/50 mixture of my local tap water 7.83 pH & bottled still water 5.8 pH

Light:
    For the moment, I´m using a stand lamp with a lower-watt CFL on a flexible neck. Plus, the Babies get moved in their tray to follow the sun from two different window sills for around 6-8 hours when it´s a clear day.