Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

COCO COIR Problems growing in coco

Hi all ... Newbie here with a problem!

I have recently been having trouble growing in soil and have had a couple of plants die in the first 2-3 weeks of growth for reasons I'm really not sure of. In the first week, the seedlings shot up faster than expected and all was looking hopeful but by the second week the leaves had yellow tips and by the third, they were almost dead. I did lots of research but couldn't find anything that looked similar to this problem and didn't really provide anything conclusive. That being said; most of the relatable solutions pointed to the water retention of the soil and the PH.

For me, this is where it got confusing... after realising the first 2 plants were dying, I started to germinate and plant 2 more seeds, except this time I used coco coir with a 20% perlite mix that I got from Amazon because I've heard it's almost impossible to overwater and more forgiving than soil.

For fertilizer, I bought have some Advanced Nutrients: Big-Bud, Cal-Mag and had some general Tomato food nutrients.
    (Slightly embarrassing to admit but I've heard that tomato food has all the basic nutrients cannabis needs and I already had some from my last grow, which it worked great for! As I'm trying coco for the first time, I'm thinking that I'm going to need ferts that are far more specific than tomato food, for the plants to thrive properly?)

Anyway; the new plants in the coco have been alive for just over a week now. They both looked healthy and really green (If a little too light) and I thought they were doing better than the previous ones I had planted in soil until, over the past couple days, I've seen almost no growth from either of them. On a more alarming note, one of them has developed white spots over the past 24 hours and has now started to shrivel up!! The other has remained quite light green with minimal growth.