Help! Newbie with pale looking plants

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HELP! Help! Newbie with pale looking plants

Hey everyone! I'm brand new to growing. In fact I decided to try it because of being stuck at home in lockdown. I got some automatic seeds that I am trying to grow on my balcony (in northern France so it's still a bit chilly here).

Anyway, they seemed to be coming along quite nicely, although they have always been a bit on the pale side, but then today I come home and some of them are looking a lot worse.

I don't know how well you can see it on the pics, but they all seem a bit pale to me (compared to pics I've seen online) and some have a few splotches on the leaves. The one that's doing worst of all has suddenly become very pale and papery.

I'm using Plagron light mix soil, to which I added some Terra grow and Power Roots after about 10 days (following the Plagron grow chart). I lower my waters PH with vinegar. I have a PH and EC meter. The older plants are about 20 days old, the seedlings are about 10 days old. They're outdoors on my balcony getting some sun during the day, but I've been bringing them in on cold nights. It's been extremely windy lately so I've had to keep them indoors (near the window) more.

I'd be grateful for any help: how do they look to you? What's wrong with the ones that aren't looking so hot? What should I change? What should I do?

I hope I haven't screwed this up

Thanks!

Do you have any kind of perlite or leca in the soil ? And what about drainage in the pot. ?
    Just because people are over 50 doesn’t mean they know everything.
    You can teach a old dog new tricks - But it will still think the old ways are the “best” lol

Comment

You're right. The drainage isn't great. Especially for the plastic pots. And no, I didn't add perlite to the light mix (I asked the shop where I bought it and they said it already had enough in it....but I'm not sure). 😕
      You think thatsy issue? Any advice?