Root Rot!? Please help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Root Rot!? Please help!

I have grown in soil but this is my first time growing in a DWC bubble bucket. I am very detailed oriented, did a lot of research, and can't figure out what's going on. I ran into what I am pretty sure is a root rot problem, then I took some pretty extreme measures to resolve it, all was good for a week or so then the problem came back. Any help with this would be very helpful!

OLD PROBLEM: I believe was root rot. Gross slim started growing on my airstones so I am pretty sure the problem was root rot. Please let me know if you agree.

SOLUTION: I did everything under the sun to stop the root rod (H202, Hydroguard, Enzyme Komplete, trimming infected roots) but nothing worked so I went to the extreme measure of cutting the roots all the way to the rooter plug.

RESULT: I then cleaned the hell out of my equipment, nets, buckets, airstones, and airlines in bleach for 24 hours, then H2O2 for 24 hours, then rinsed in RO water for another 24 hours. I also bought new hydroton, double sealed all points where light could get in (even put my cellphone on video and put into the bucket to ensure no light was peaking through), and switched to RO water. I then manually top fed the plant till the roots were poking an inch or so out of the net pot. In a week the root mass exploded from the pic in the plug above to this below, and looked extremely healthy.

NEW PROBLEM: I thought all was good so I put my nutrient solution into my bucket and filled until it was 1.5 inches from the bottom of the net pot. The next day I checked on my roots and saw the below. Am I going crazy, or is this root rot again!? Or is it just Nutes staining my roots? There is dark brown matter on my roots that I did not see with my first root problem at the top of my post. Please help!

From what I can tell the top of the plant appears to be healthy:

PLEASE HELP! I really appreciate your feedback!

MY SETUP: