Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Vegan/Plant-Based Edibles (need advice from culinary professionals)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Vegan/Plant-Based Edibles (need advice from culinary professionals)

Hello,

I'm currently in the flowering stage of my first grow (3x northern lights auto in DWC) and have only tried a handful of edibles recipes before from vaped bud (ABV) or finely ground bud in oil. I am usually not super into edibles but hope to do something with the trim and shake if this grow is successful.

There are tons of recipes online for food and drink, but was wondering if anyone on the forum is also vegan (like me)/vegetarian or just interested in plant-based foods and had any ideas to share. PLEASE DO NOT POST A GROCERY LIST OF PLANT-BASED OPTIONS, WE ALL KNOW WHERE OLIVE OIL COMES FROM. I am a professional cook coming out of grad school and am looking to expand my recipe stock and approach some of the perennial issues in vegan cooking specifically (i.e.- substitution in established animal-based recipes, emulsion, shelf-life of baked goods, etc.) but would like to hear more from others who are also interested in the challenges and innovative solutions found in the vegan/stoner intersection of cooking.

Here are what I see as the basics of vegan edibles-

Alcohol/Glycerin Tinctures: From the perspective of culinary technique, the green dragon and vanilla extract are basically the same thing. Cold infusions that can be used as an ingredient rather than a dish. Simple and effective but not really a recipe in itself.