new to hydoponics urgently need advice for my babies

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HELP! new to hydoponics urgently need advice for my babies

Hey I'm new to hydroponic growing and was hoping I could get some advice on my first grow.

The set up is a dutch bucket system using an old 75 litre aquarium for the reservoir. The substrate is clay pellets. I adjusted the water to 6.4 ph (tap water is 8.2 naturally here) and added 90 ml of fertilizer when setting up the nutrient solution. Instructions said that you need 1-5 ml of fertilizer of A+B for every litre of water, and I thought you give seedlings a lower amount, so I thought that would work.

The seedlings look deformed. I put them into the hydro system about a week ago after sprouting them in rock wool. They are under some T5 flourescents on an 18/6 schedule, which worked fine for the soil based crop I did before.. One is pretty unwell, the other looks aright but still kind of weird for now. I noticed a white substance appeared on the clay pellets - it seems salty. Maybe that means there is too much fertilizer and it is leaching into the clay?

I have no idea if this is a nutrient deficiecy, overfeeding, or something else. I feel sad for my babies. Please help!

Yes, it does look like the nute solution may have been a bit too hot. Do you have a ec/ppm meter? Very important bit of kit for hydro.
    WHAT???
    5x5 grow space
    900w of Vero's and F-strips
    4-17gal totes self-made UC system.

Comment

thanks i think I will amend the solution by topping it off with just straight water

Comment

From all the salt buildup on your clay pellets, I would flush for at least 24 hours with RO, then go back with a much milder solution.
        Proving the world just needs more tumble weeds
        A tale of two seeds
        Batter Up Sour Deisel
        Batter up! Amnesia Haze Autoflower
        New Year, New Grow, Jack Herer DWC
        Batter up, Girl Scout Cookies extreme auto (GSCE)

Comment