PH Monitoring

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HYDRO PH Monitoring

I'm lazy. Let's make no bones about that. I've come to terms later in life with some unfortunate things about myself and I have to be honest - I'm a lazy bastard.

That said, I am a firm believer in closely monitoring the environment in my grow reservoirs and it's considerably more work with 4 buckets to keep track of. To that end, I am interested in automating PH monitoring as much as I can. I'm wondering what experience you growers out there have.

Specifically, I'm wondering about something like an Arduino-based system that looks like it could be acquired affordably (have I mentioned that I am cheap as well as lazy)? Most of the industrial grade equipment I've seen for this is prohibitively expensive for a grow like mine which is strictly for personal production.

I have no experience with Arduino and am hardly an electrical engineer, but somebody figured this stuff out, therefore, so can I if given the time and other resources (I'm not THAT lazy). Here is what I'm looking at:

The Arduino

Click image for larger version  Name:	shopping?q=tbn:ANd9GcRTOIojrzud6vlj8PYVxeCQezhsKgshIp3ln713-2pmqJceSVE&usqp=CAY.jpg Views:	3 Size:	54.0 KB ID:	342932

The sensor

Click image for larger version  Name:	shopping?q=tbn:ANd9GcQCyNRs7T9GTyApqQKFRGdmEyw-hp85okLZjVgz86TsMpFRZ4q-UGhkbyOTukEYD4gP5mklSSs&usqp=CAY.jpg Views:	3 Size:	44.6 KB ID:	342933

Module upgrade (optional?)

Click image for larger version  Name:	s-l640.jpg Views:	3 Size:	71.4 KB ID:	342934

I am not a "coder" beyond the occasional simple bash script, but surely I can cookbook an Arduino script. There is some documentation for the stock module here (Warning: Here there be Kanji).

The upgrade documentation seem a little more accessible.

Advantages to this system involve flexibility - I can upgrade (display, wifi board, etc.) and might be able to more easily monitor 4 buckets with less hardware.

Any wisdom out there?

Thanks.