Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HELP! Air circulation & Fans

Hi guys.

I’m totally new to this, so excuse the noob question.

I now have a small tent setup in a spare room with a King LED 1200 light. Going for the Coco, Perlite mix. So I’m nearly ready to go for my first ever grow.

However, I would love some advice on the use of fans. I’ve given the light a run for a couple of days just to get an idea of heat in the tent before deciding on size of fan etc. However, the tent is running at about 74F (23.5C), which is cooler than I thought it would be.

I had been thinking of a 6” fan, but now I might go for a 4” extraction and just have a bottom vent open, with an oscillating fan inside, as I’m concerned that the tent will end up being too cold. Does this make sense or am I going the wrong way?

Also, how much smell is there from a small grow tent? Is it best to have a carbon filter to avoid the whole house stinking, or is the smell not too bad/strong?

Any advice would be very welcome 🙏🏻

Thanks
    Kieran

Just to note, I’ll be growing Dutch Passion Blue Auto Mazar to begin with.

Comment

I went with a 4" system in my small tent. It is more than adequate. I had an oscillator in there and it failed. I concluded that the oscillating fan was important for a big plant to help it developed vertical strength, but ultimately it was too much plant for a small tent. Plant was supposed to be an auto flower, turned out to be be a full-size photoperiodic variety.

Plant was a challenge for the small tent, but it worked out. At any rate, if you're looking at fresh air circulation, 4" should be fine.
      ​​​​

Just my 2¢.
      Last edited by madams9; 10-09-2019, 12:28 PM.
      Third grow - Northern Lights and Red Cheese (Southern Oregon Seeds) , ​​​​DWC hydro

Comment