Newbie light issues...do they ever end?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie light issues...do they ever end?

Good evening all, dedheded here. Up front, this isn't just my first time on this forum, it's my first time on any forum anywhere so here goes... I have a nice little grow room on the side of my house. My house is semi into a slope so the bottom 45% is in the ground, nice and cool. The floor is 4 by four and I have 6 and a half ft. of headroom. No it's not a tent but an actual room. After you get 3 ish feet up it opens to 60" by 49". I don't want to fool around. I'm not rich, far from it that's why I decided to grow. But I do believe that anything worth doing is worth doing right...right? I would hate to leave bud on the table because I cheaped out on the lights. I bought a L.E.D. 1200 watt but I didn't do enough research and basically bought a light i can't use. The spects say keep it 36 above the plant during veg, but raise to 4 and a half ft. during flower...the only light by the by that I have seen you actually raise during flower. I then did a lot of checking and everyone say's 2 300 watts are better than 1 600. Now for my question...well, a several part question...based on all the pretty lil graphs that are along side the pictures on Amazon a 450 Watt Vipraspectra light will cover veg at 24" in a 2.5 by 2.5 and flower at 18" in a 2 by 2. So to cover a 4 by 4 grow room the best I can I need 4 lights right? Even though that appears to be 1800 insane watts. Part 2. My Century power strip with timer says do not exceed 1825 watts. Vipraspectra says that light actually pulls 200 watts. So do I have 972 extra watts to play with, like for my exhaust and fans etc. or do I only have 25? I just don't want to burn down the house ya know. Thank you kindly in advance for the help. I have 2 Sour Diesels 1 White Widow Max and 1 OG Kush going right now under a CFL and I figure I have a week, 10 days before I have to have my real light shining. In a